This is the teaching that brings me back to yoga time and again.  When life gets busy and there doesn’t seem to be enough time for strengthening of the body, I start to lose my mind.

“Health begins with firmness in body, deepens to emotional stability, then leads to intellectual clarity, wisdom, and, finally, the unveiling of the soul.” ~ B.K.S. Iyengar

This is a lesson that sticks with me every day.  I repeat it to myself when I am slouching, when I get tired and want to be lazy, when I hesitate getting out of bed for my morning practice.  But I remember that my all will suffer if I allow my body to become weak.

3 weeks ago I got back on my mat and recommitted to my ashtanga yoga practice. 21 days in, practicing every morning (except moon days), I feel like a new woman!  So I have started Ashtamber….my 100 day commitment to Strength in Body, Mind & Soul.

Working on this one today…

Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimattanasana